Chocolates are a favorite treat for many people. However, those with celiac disease and gluten intolerance must be careful and check the ingredients when choosing chocolates.

Some brands may contain traces of gluten. This is because some companies are not allergy-friendly and would add gluten containing ingredients. Others are not good at quality control and do not prevent cross-contact (cross contamination) at the manufacturing facilities. Then there are some products that have been recalled due to poor labeling.

Luckily, there are several brands of chocolate that are completely gluten-free. Understandably, everyone has a different comfort level. Some feel comfortable with certified gluten-free products while others expect the manufacturing facilities to be dedicated free of gluten. All the chocolates listed here are marketed as gluten-free. Those made in the gluten-free facility are highlighted by ๐ŸŸข a symbol next to their name.

Those made in the gluten-free facility are highlighted by ๐ŸŸข a symbol next to their name.

We have done the hard work and searched for the products that are available online and match your comfort level. We contacted customer service when gluten-related information was not available on the company's websites.

We understand that you may not always be able to buy chocolates online as instant cravings do need in-store purchases. As an extra measure towards due diligence to help you, we have also covered questions related to the common chocolates in the FAQ section.

Whether you like chocolate for the sweet tooth, baking needs, allergy-friendly birthday parties, or holiday celebrations, we've got you covered.

Following is the list of gluten-free chocolates categorized by their type. We have chosen these based on allergy friendliness of the product, allergy awareness of the company, availability, customer service, and information transparency on the website and labels. We have not rated these for taste as it is subjective. Enjoy!

Last updated May 20, 2022. Visit Flappd for the latest brand-verified information, in-store availability, and reviews of allergy-friendly products.


No Whey Foods Milkless Bar ๐ŸŸข

This is our favorite milk chocolate. Although it is a 'milk' chocolate, it contains no milk or dairy. No Whey Foods take pride in the fact that their product maintains the look and creamy texture of typical milk chocolate.

The product is made in a dedicated facility that is free from Top 8 allergens and gluten making it the best chocolate for individuals with multiple food allergies.

We were impressed by the company's prompt and knowledgeable customer service.


Vegan Cane Sugar, Cocoa Butter, Unsweetened Chocolate, Rice Syrup Powder, Sunflower Lecithin (An Emulsifier), Salt, Natural Vanilla, Natural Flavor


Country Link
No Whey Foods๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Buy Now ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Buy Now


Taza Wicked Dark Chocolate ๐ŸŸข

This dark chocolate is made for those who enjoy chocolate in its simplest and unadulterated form. It is made of just two ingredients - 95% stone-ground chocolate and just enough sugar to mask the bitterness of chocolate.

Those with nut allergies should avoid it

It is also dairy and soy-free. Those with nut allergies should avoid it as the bar may contain traces of almonds, cashews, coconut, hazelnuts, and pecans.


Organic cacao beans, organic cane sugar.


Country Link
Amazon ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Buy Now
Nature Sante ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Buy Now


Pascha Organic Vegan White Bar

This vegan bar is made using seven plant-based ingredients. It is organic and certified gluten-free by the celiac support association.

Those with multiple food allergies would love this bar. Pascha chocolate company manufactures this product in a facility that is dedicated free from top 8 allergens including milk, eggs, fish, crustacean shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat, and soybeans.

We did not need to contact the company for allergen information as most of the information was available on the company's website.


Organic Cocoa Butter (Vegan), Organic Cane Sugar, Organic Tapioca Starch, Organic Rice Syrup Solids, Organic Rice Maltodextrin, Organic Vanilla, and Salt.


Country Link
Amazon ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Buy Now
Natura Market ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Buy Now

Enjoying our verified content?

Sign up for our recommendations and tips via email

Email Me


No Whey Candy Bar

Craving a caramel-filled gooey chocolate nougat? This Milk Way look-alike caramel chocolate is vegan and gluten-free. Those with multiple food allergies would be glad to know that it is also top 8 free and made in a dedicated facility. Those who are allergic to peas should avoid it as this bar does contain peas.

Those who are allergic to peas should avoid it as this bar does contain peas


Vegan Cane Sugar, Cocoa Butter, Unsweetened Chocolate, Organic Brown Rice (Partially milled), Roasted Sunflower Seed, Maltodextrin (From Corn),
Evaporated Cane Syrup, Corn Syrup, Chickpeas, Xanthan Gum, Canola Oil, Safflower Oil, Flax Oil, Olive Oil, Palm Oil, Pea Protein, Lactic Acid (Non Dairy), Tricalcium Phosphate, Vitamin A Palmitate, Vitamin B12,Vitamin D2, Natural Annatto (Color), Salt, Rice Syrup Powder, Sunflower Lecithin, Dextrose, Natural Flavor, Vanilla


Country Link
No Whey Foods ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Buy Now
Vegan Supply ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Buy Now


No Whey Chocolate No No's ๐ŸŸข

Not in the mood for chocolate bars? Missing your favorite M&Ms? These rainbow-coloured M&M candy-line look-a-likes are what you need. ย The pieces are crunchy with sugar coating and have a dairy-free chocolate interior.

The candy is dairy-free, peanut-free, tree nut-free, soy-free, wheat-free, egg-free, fish-free, shellfish-free, and gluten-free. Making it an excellent option for birthday parties where kids may have different food allergies.


Vegan Cane Sugar, Cocoa Butter, Rice Syrup Powder, Unsweetened Chocolate, Sunflower Lecithin (Emulsifier), Gum Arabic, Carnauba Wax, Pectin, Spirulina Extract (Color), Fruit and Vegetable Juice (Color) [spirulina concentrate (blue algae), carrot concentrate, radish concentrate, blackcurrant concentrate, pumpkin concentrate, lemon concentrate] Salt, Natural Vanilla, Natural Flavor


Country Link
Amazon ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Buy Now ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Buy Now


Enjoy Life Mini Chocolate Bar Variety Pack ๐ŸŸข

Many people find that they enjoy assorted chocolates because they can taste a variety of flavors in a single sitting. Others just want to control their calorie intake by eating bite-sized pieces. This 15-piece pack from Enjoy life is just meant to serve that purpose.

The pack contains three types of Enjoy life chocolate bars- ย rice milk, rice milk crunch, and dark. All the types are gluten free and free from common allergens including wheat, peanuts, tree nuts, dairy, casein, soy, egg, sesame, mustard, lupin, fish, shellfish and crustaceans.


DARK: Unsweetened Chocolate, Cane Sugar, Cocoa Butter. RICE MILK CRUNCH: Cane Sugar, Cocoa butter, Unsweetened Chocolate, Rice Crisps (Rice Flour, Cane Sugar, Sea Salt), Dried Rice Syrup, Salt. RICE MILK: Cane Sugar, Cocoa Butter, Unsweetened Chocolate, Dried Rice Syrup, Salt.


Country Link
Amazon ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Buy Now
No Nuts About Us ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Buy Now


Free2b Sun Cups Mint ๐ŸŸข

If you are craving the tase of York Dark Chocolate Peppermint Patties because you want something vegan, allergy-friendly, and certified gluten-free, these cups are what you need. ย 

Free2b Sun cups are available in 2 cup packs. These cups are free from and made in a dedicated facility free from peanuts, dairy, tree nuts, gluten, coconut, eggs, sesame, soy, mustard, corn, fish, and shellfish.

Those allergic to sunflower seeds should avoid these cups


Dark Chocolate (Unsweetened Chocolate, Sugar, Cocoa Butter), Sugar, Powdered Sugar (Evaporate Cane Juice, Tapioca Starch), Rice Drink (Filtered Water, Brown Rice, (Partially Milled), Expeller Pressed Canola Oil and/or Safflower Oil, Sea Salt),Cocoa Butter, Peppermint Flavoring (Peppermint, Sunflower Oil)


Country Link
Amazon ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Buy Now ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Buy Now


If you avoiding dairy as well, please check our article on dairy-free chocolates.

Disclaimer: We have done our best to research, verify, and provide accurate information on every item (including ingredients and allergy information), but over time information and packaging may change or be updated. If in doubt please contact the manufacturer and check Flappd Canada for latest brand-verified information.

Chocolate FAQs


Is chocolate gluten-free?

In their purest form, chocolates are not expected to contain gluten. The reason all chocolates are not gluten-free is that some products contain gluten-based ingredients, or they are made in a facility where gluten is used.


Which chocolate manufacturing companies are gluten-free?

Gluten-free chocolate companies include No Whey Foods, Taza, Pascha, Enjoy Life, and Free2b. While other big brands manufacture some gluten-free chocolates, all chocolates made by these companies are gluten-free and allergy-friendly.

Just a friendly reminder that this post only includes selected free from milk chocolates. You can also find peanut and tree nut free chocolates on this blog.

Share this post